The Gateway to North America's world music market

7th edition

14
- 17
nov '17

DEFAULT LEFT SIDE

WOMEX 2017 Gouvernement du Québec

 KEYNOTE: Stephen Budd presents Africa Express = A successful bet!

KEYNOTE: Stephen Budd presents Africa Express = A successful bet!
Loading Map....

Nov 15th 2017

1:30 PM

Monument National

1182 St Laurent Blvd
Montreal

 

KEYNOTE: Stephen Budd (UK Producer, Manager, Africa Express co-founder)

Stephen Budd is one of the main people behind the groundbreaking Africa Express project, formed in 2007. Its goal is to bring African music into the mainstream through musical collaborations between African artists and well-known western artists, as well as by staging innovative concerts at prominent music festivals.

In addition to his involvement in Africa Express, Stephen Budd is a successful manager (he has managed artists ranging from Gang of Four to Songhoy Blues), and has helped to develop festivals including the NH7 Weekender Festival (India), the OneFest Festival (UK), Passport to BRITs Week (UK, a charity concert series). Artists who have performed at his events include Paul McCartney, Amadou & Mariam, Franz Ferdinand, Salif Keita, Seun Kuti, Brian Eno, Thievery Corporation, and many more.

He is also a founder of Music Managers Forum, and has sat on the board of the Palestine Music Expo, chaired Eurovision Song Contest selection panels, and even accompanied David Cameron on a trade mission to India (which led to the NH7 Weekender Festival).

 

Tickets:
Regular price: $10 (at the door only)
Bundle including the projection of the movie on Friday, November 17 at 6:30 p.m. : $12

Presented by in collaboration with Vues d’Afrique  

Panel & Showcase Passport : 80$

DEFAULT LEFT SIDE

WOMEX 2017 Gouvernement du Québec

Le rendez-vous nord-américain des musiques du monde

7e édition

14
- 17
nov '17

DEFAULT LEFT SIDE

WOMEX 2017 Gouvernement du Québec

 Stephen Budd nous raconte… Africa Express = un pari réussi!

Stephen Budd nous raconte…  Africa Express = un pari réussi!
Chargement de la carte…

15 Nov 2017

1:30 PM

Monument National

1182 St Laurent Blvd
Montreal

Stephen Budd, cofondateur de Africa Express.

Créé en 2007,  Africa Express a pour but est de faire découvrir les musiques africaines au grand public, grâce à des collaborations entre des artistes africains et des artistes occidentaux connus, tout en organisant des des spectacles novateurs et des festivals de grande ampleur.

En plus de son implication dans Africa Express, Stephen Budd est aussi gérant d’artistes (il a travaillé avec notamment Gang of Four et Songhoy Blues), et il a aidé à développer des festivals comme le NH7 Weekender Festival (inde), le OneFest Festival (G-B), Passport to BRITs Week (G-B, une série pour la charité). Parmis les artistes qui ont performé à ses événement on peut citer Paul McCartney, Amadou & Mariam, Franz Ferdinand, Salif Keita, Seun Kuti, Brian Eno, Thievery Corporation, et bien plus encore.

Il est aussi le fondateur de Music Managers Forum, et il a fait parti du conseil d’administration du Palestine Music Expo, a été président du comité de sélection de l’Eurovision, a accompagné David Cameron sur une mission commerciale en Inde (qui a mené au NH7 Weekender Festival)…

Billets
Conférence : 10 $ à la porte seulement
COMBO : Conférence + projection du film « Africa Express » (le vendredi 17 novembre): 12 $ (plus taxes)

Présenté en collaboration avec Vues D’Afrique  

Passe Passeport pour la semaine (vitrines et conférences): 80$

 

DEFAULT LEFT SIDE

WOMEX 2017 Gouvernement du Québec