Close

The ARTIST LAB

Crafted for the artists, in collaboration with SOCAN, Groover, Side Door & Cult Nation

The Artist Lab is a new activity presented by M for Montreal and Mundial Montreal, designed to provide artists and music makers the necessary tools to develop their careers and create meaningful connections.

Free and open to all, the Artist Lab is featuring one-on-one sessions with representatives of key funding agencies, meetings with experienced music industry professionals, technology demonstrations, panels and more.

 

When? November 22, 1pm
Where? Cult Nation (160 Saint Viateur E St., Suite 803)
How much? Free, open to all

SOCANCOOKING BEATS - Grandmaster Class with Michael “DrtWrk” Suski

Thanks to Technology, beatmaking has become a flagship activity in music. Artists like Murda Beatz, Kaytranada or Banx & Ranx, are now essential players in the music scene. How do they create these masterpieces? What software do they use? How do they propose their creations to artists?

Grandmaster Class with Michael “DrtWrk” Suski

Michael “DrtWrk” Suski, will be joining Widney Bonfils, Executive A&R at SOCAN, to discuss this topic. You will have access to some of the most guarded secrets and leave with enriching knowledge and a ton of inspiration!

Listening Session & Pros Feedback

Groover connects artists who want to promote their music with the best media, radios and labels seeking emerging talents. An innovative web platform on which musicians are ensured to be listened to, get feedback guaranteed and coverage.

At the Artist Lab, Groover organizes an exclusive listening and live feedback session by talented music professionals for independent artists. The 3 professionals you will meet are:

 

Gautier Villette, Director / A&R Hydrophonik Records – Artist Manager Indica Records (Foreign Diplomats and Hein Cooper)

 

Alice Bocquet, Project Manager Chivi Chivi Chivi

 

Guillaume Lombart, Publisher Ad Litteram

Save your spot

Shows On Your Own Terms: Bookings Outside the Box

Join the Side Door team and special guest panelists Thanya Iyer at this town hall style event to examine the evolving culture of booking shows and how that’s changing with new technology.

 

Thanya Iyer is both a person and a band. Thanya Iyer the person, is 1/3 of Thanya Iyer the band. The other 2/3s are made up of Alex, Dan, and other great friends. Thanya Iyer (the band) has done a lot (released an album, released a mixtape, played at festivals, played in every time zone in North America, etc). Thanya Iyer (the person) has done all this and then some. Thanya Iyer (the person) is a very busy person. Thanya Iyer (the band) is a very busy band and the sound has evolved to reflect this. Thanya Iyer (the band) struggles to define their music (only when asked, they don’t think about it the rest of the time) and rather than recite a list of genres and sub-genres, they would rather you just listen and tell them. But for the lazy (or busy) people out there maybe Future-Folk is accurate (or vague) enough? Thanya Iyer (the person and the band) will continue her and their never-ending quest to bring joy to those they come in contact with. Using music, conversation, green tea, and miscellaneous.  

Masaru Emoto

Discussion on publishing

Jeff Waye of Third Side Music explains the ins and outs of publishing, giving useful information that will help to understand this crucial aspect of the music business. A must-attend for anyone who has participated in recordings.

One on one sessions with organizations:

Meeting and advice in managing 

your repertoire

You would like to entrust us the management of your rights, to ask questions on our organization, our services or simply to exchange on the management of your repertory, come to see us for one on one meeting. Soproq is a not-for-profit collective rights management organization for makers of sound recordings and music videos. The organization collects and distributes royalties from the public performance and reproduction of sound recordings and music videos in its repertoire, as well as the royalties from the private copying regime.

Save your spot

Masaru Emoto

Meeting and advice

 

Individual meetings with stakeholders to discuss your project.

Close

Le ARTIST LAB

Conçu pour les artistes, en collaboration avec SOCAN, Groover, Side Door et Cult Nation

La grande nouveauté de cette édition ! Le Artist Lab, présenté par Mundial Montréal et M pour Montréalest conçu pour fournir aux artistes et aux créateurs de musique les outils nécessaires pour développer leur carrière et créer des contacts significatifs. 

Gratuit et ouvert à tous, il comprend des séances individuelles avec des représentants des principaux organismes de financement, des rencontres avec des pros expérimentés de l’industrie, des démonstrations, des panels et plus.

 

Quand? 22 novembre, 13h
Où? Cult Nation (160 Rue Saint Viateur E, Suite 803)
Combien? Gratuit, ouvert à tous

SOCAN COOKING BEATS - Classe de maître avec Michael « DrtWrk » Suski

Grâce à l’avènement des technologies, le beatmaking est devenu une activité phare dans le domaine de la musique, où les Murda Beatz, Kaytranada, Banx & Ranx de ce monde sont désormais des joueurs incontournables. Comment font-ils pour créer ces chefs d’œuvres? Quels logiciels utilisent-ils? Comment proposent-ils leurs beats aux artistes? 

Classe de maître avec Michael « DrtWrk » Suski

 Michael « DrtWrk » Suski, se joindra à Widney Bonfils, A&R Exécutif à la SOCAN, pour en discuter. Accédez aux secrets bien gardés du beatmaking et repartez inspiré avec des connaissances indispensables ainsi qu’une tonne d’inspiration !

Session d’Écoute & Retours de Pros

Groover met en contact les artistes qui veulent promouvoir leur musique et les meilleurs médias, radios et labels en quête de talents émergents. Une nouvelle plateforme qui garantit aux musiciens d’être écoutés, d’avoir enfin des retours et de gagner en visibilité. Au Artist LabGroover organise une session exclusive d’écoute et feedback en direct par des professionnels, destinée aux musiciens indépendants.

Spectacles à vos propres conditions : Se booker, différemment

Joignez-vous à l’équipe de Side Door et aux panélistes invités, Thanya Iyer, à cet événement de style table ronde pour observer l’évolution de la culture du booking de spectacles et comment les nouvelles technologies sont en train de la modifier.

Thanya Iyer est à la fois une personne et un groupe. Thanya Iyer, la personne, représente 1/3 de Thanya Iyer, le groupe. Les autres 2/3 sont composés d’Alex, de Dan et d’autres grands amis. Thanya Iyer (le groupe) compte plusieurs réalisations à son actif (un album, un mixtape, le groupe a joué dans des festivals, sur tous les fuseaux horaires en Amérique du Nord, etc.). Thanya Iyer (la personne) a fait tout cela, et plus encore. Thanya Iyer (la personne) est une personne très occupée. Thanya Iyer (le groupe) est également un groupe très occupé et leur emploi du temps se réflète à travers leur son. Thanya Iyer (le groupe) a du mal à définir sa musique (seulement lorsqu’on lui demande, ils n’y pensent pas le reste du temps!) et plutôt que de définir une liste de genres et de sous-genres, ils préféreraient que vous écoutiez leur musique et que vous leur disiez à quel genre ça vous fait penser. Mais pour les paresseux (ou les personnes occupées), peut-être que Future-Folk est suffisamment précis (ou vague)? Thanya Iyer (la personne et le groupe) poursuivra sa quête sans fin pour apporter de la joie à ceux avec qui ils entrent en contact. Utilisation de musique, conversation, thé vert et autres au menu.

Discussion sur l’édition musicale

Jeff Waye de Third Side Music explique les tenants et aboutissants de l’édition musicale et donne des informations utiles qui aideront à comprendre cet élément crucial de l’industrie musicale. Un rendez-vous incontournable pour tous ceux qui ont pris part à des enregistrements.

Rencontres individuelles avec les organismes:

Rencontre et conseils pour la gestion

 

de votre répertoire

Vous souhaitez nous confier la gestion de vos droits, poser des questions sur notre organisation, nos services ou encore simplement échanger sur la gestion de votre répertoire, venez à notre rencontre en formule tête-à-tête. La Soproq est une société de gestion collective des droits des producteurs d’enregistrements sonores et de vidéoclips. Elle perçoit et distribue les redevances découlant des droits d’exécution publique, de ceux liés à la reproduction et au régime de copie privée.

Réservez votre place

Rencontre et conseils

Rencontres individuelles avec les intervenants pour discuter de votre projet.